No Matter What Happens

January 9, 2013

I’m getting on a plane going home from where I presume is college.  On the plane along with me are a guy I used to hate and a guy I barely know.  The rest are strangers.  The guy I used to hate says something nice to me.  I nod, thinking maybe I’ve pegged him wrong.  A storm is coming so they rush us to get seated.

We can’t actually fly in the storm, so they just try to drive the plane far away from the airport.  We stop and they let us off in a tall office building downtown to wait out the storm.  All the passengers are crowded around the windows watching the weather outside when we start to see several large ominous tornados form all around us.  I call my parents and tell them I’m going to be delayed.

As I speak, I see one of the twisters wreak havoc on some buildings down the street.  The windows are blown out completely. There are lots of people on the streets, like no one expected the storm.  A man hastily runs into a building, barely avoiding being sucked into oblivion.  Then we see a building directly across from us get completely flattened.  Everyone is scared shitless.  Just then, the twister turns and heads straight for our building.  We all run towards the center of the building to hide, where we, admittedly, should have already been.

“No matter what happens, I love you! I have to go.  Bye!” I yell into the phone.

Then my alarm clock goes off.

Leave a Reply

